Author Topic: goldwing electrical issue (?)  (Read 1864 times)

Offline gl1dinorider

• Legendary Member
goldwing electrical issue (?)
« on: April 09, 2012, 02:26:39 am »
okay, so new stator, new regulator, at idle it pushes 12.8- 12.9 v by the voltmeter consistantly (dash guage of course reads less, not concerned) , at operating rpm's its pushing 15.1 - 15.7v. now i can accept 13 to 14 volts, but isnt 15+ a bit much? is this normal for these older wings? ???

im still learning the wing as its my first one, and of course im going to check some of the goldwing sites, but if anyone can share a little insight i'd greatly appreciate it.

one thing i do know is that i havent HAD to work on it till now. not bad for some 14k-ish miles. i loves me some honda engineering.

:pop
What does "riding season" mean?

Offline Curtie223

• Legendary Member
Re: Re: goldwing electrical issue (?)
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 06:09:05 am »
I would think that 15v would be too much? And if so that would be the regulator.

Posted by Tapatalk Smartphone App

2001 KTM 300exc 
 2004 LTZ400

-When you see another rider keep in mind that is another friend you haven't had the chance to meet yet!!
-Riding is about doing what you love! No matter what you ride or how you ride. Just as long as you

Offline gl1dinorider

• Legendary Member
Re: goldwing electrical issue (?)
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 10:13:29 am »
new regulator. i know that sometimes you can get a bad one new but thr probability is out there.

Offline Curtie223

• Legendary Member
Re: Re: goldwing electrical issue (?)
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 10:21:04 am »
Yeah, but rare ???

Posted by Tapatalk Smartphone App

2001 KTM 300exc 
 2004 LTZ400

-When you see another rider keep in mind that is another friend you haven't had the chance to meet yet!!
-Riding is about doing what you love! No matter what you ride or how you ride. Just as long as you

Offline cowboy450

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2012, 07:23:56 pm »