Author Topic: V Star seat rebuild  (Read 1964 times)

Offline Luvmystar

• Legendary Member
V Star seat rebuild
« on: February 03, 2013, 03:18:11 pm »
Ok i've mentioned a few times modding the seat on my bike so I decided to start a thread on iteven if it is a bit late the missed pics wouldn't show much anyway.I started this with a spare seat right after the picnic ride last year and thought I had done a good job getting the shape I wanted but what I had done was recreate the Diamond seat I had sold.It was an improvement over the stock config but after a few months I started having the same type discomfort I had when I before my hernia surguries. :27 Scared the crap out of me.Quit riding started thinking and remembered the other seat so I put the stocker back on and here we are.I've seriously considered an old wing or voyager type touring bike but lack of funds prevents that so I started studying the pics and noticed the seats don't have the nose tilted up and neither does the stock on my bike so back to the shed I went and these pics show where i've got to.I used a hacksaw blade and some patience to get get the basic shape and then used a small angle grinder with a sanding disc to smooth things out and fine tune a bit.The way the stock seat is made forces hammock affect when you ride and after you ride the pressure direct on the tailbone is extremely painful and I'm not comfortable leaning forward as much as is required to relieve this so My reshape is aimed at allowing a 2piece type cover.The bottom will be covered seperately from the back.I have it where I can ride for awhile to get the feel right before I cover it though.
Marc

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

Offline Luvmystar

• Legendary Member
Re: V Star seat rebuild
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 03:27:51 pm »