Author Topic: Equifax Security Breach. WHAT TO DO?????  (Read 404 times)

Offline PAULRIDES

• Legendary Member
  • I might be old, but can mount without help. HA!
Equifax Security Breach. WHAT TO DO?????
« on: September 14, 2017, 09:04:27 am »
Perhaps you have heard of the Equifax Security Breach affecting 143 million folks. Likely you, me, and folks we know are in that list. I became aware when son was visiting and saw it on TV this AM.  :groan

WHAT TO DO?

Per http://clark.com/  we need a Credit Freeze from all 3 Credit Agencies(Equifax, TranUnion, Experian). Credit Freeze apparently prevents anyone from opening an account getting credit in your name cause the Credit Agencies would be contacted and there would be no credit INFO provided. 

I am not a lawyer -- best I can do is refer you to the site http://clark.com/ for your information.

I tried calling Equifax --- no luck talking to anyone (guess millions of folks trying to do it).  I did get into a push button game and might have been able to set up a fraud alert (not sure that is the same as a freeze on credit).

A few ideas I got from http://clark.com/ as to how to get the Freeze set up. Basically, you can call (good luck as apparently there are millions of folks trying to set a freeze), you can mail a hard copy letter, you can go on their web sites and apply.  That said, there is too much INFO for me to type out details here. So, go to http://clark.com/ and look it up yourself.

I am trying to filter thru it. ANYONE FIGURE OUT HOW TO DO IT, Let me know? Any INFO appreciated.

EXPENSE:
Apparently as I have learned a Fraud Alert and a Credit Freeze both have fees (fee set by the state you live in -- I think TN is $10 plus $5 for a PIN). A PIN is needed to release Credit if you yourself are making a request). TOTAL:  Think for TN $10 plus $5 = $15 for each agency = $45. Then if you and spouse do it would be $90. TV and http://clark.com/ indicate have to do all 3 agencies.   

Ride Country Roads - a lot. :-)